CONTACT and officers

join page.png

LEO is a democratic organization led by members, many of whom volunteer their time to leadership positions. The Union is governed by the elected Union Council, who hold term-limited positions. Other leadership positions such as Grievance Officers and Committee Chairs are not term-limited. Organizing and administrative staff are supervised by the Union Council.


The Union Council (UC) is the governing body of our union. UC officers are elected by the union membership. 

Ian Robinson | President
Lecturer in Sociology and the Residential College, Ann Arbor

Kirsten Herold | Vice President
Lecturer in School of Public Health, Ann Arbor

Phil Christman | Ann Arbor Campus Co-Chair
Lecturer in English, Ann Arbor

Stephanie Gelderloos | Flint Campus Chair
Lecturer in English, Flint

Erin Lavin | Ann Arbor Campus Co-Chair
Lecturer in Romance Languages and Literatures, Ann Arbor

Erik Marshall | Dearborn Campus Chair
Lecturer in Journalism and Screen Studies, Dearborn

Joe Walls | Treasurer
Lecturer in Ross School of Business, Ann Arbor (Retired)

Anita Baxter Blough | Secretary
Lecturer in Biology, Flint


Grievance Officers oversee the Contract Implementation & Organizing Committees on their respective campuses. Contact Grievance Officers with questions regarding potential contract violations, other workplace concerns, or to seek union representation pertaining to disciplinary action or termination. 

Kirsten Herold Chief Grievance Officer

Barb Matthei Dearborn Campus Grievance Officer

Stevens Wandmacher Flint Campus Grievance Officer


Communications Committee
Contact Communications if you have questions or comments about our website, social media activity, or if you want to share your story as a lecturer!

Ann Arbor Contract Implementation/Organizing Committee
Ann Arbor lecturers with questions about your contract such as whether your salary has been calculated correctly, or how the 2018-2021 contract applies to you, should contact our campus CIO Committee. Lecturers on Dearborn and Flint campuses can contact their grievance officers or staff organizers with questions.


LEO employs a small team of organizing and administrative staff. Staff is responsible for supporting Union leaders in their work by anchoring committees, engaging members via one-on-one conversations, and coordinating between different leadership bodies. 

Contact the organizer responsible for your campus if you have questions about your contract, campus union events, union social media content, or union strategy. Contact the Business Manager if you have questions related to dues deduction. 

General Office Contact | (734) 995-1813

Moe Fitzsimons Lead Organizer, Flint Campus Organizer

Alex Elkins Dearborn and Ann Arbor Central Campus

Matt Oches Ann Arbor Central and North Campus

Alicia Schaeffer Dearborn Campus Organizer

Brenda Brown Business Manager